Cooking with My Kid http://www.cookingwithmykid.com I set out to teach my kid (and myself) the art of cooking in hopes of churning, burning and learning new recipes along the way. Sun, 03 Feb 2013 20:51:26 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Chicken Meatballs http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/dinner/chicken-meatballs/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/dinner/chicken-meatballs/#comments Sun, 03 Feb 2013 05:41:59 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12639 Chicken_Meatballs_01
I like to buy organic meat, but it seems that only Whole Foods Paycheck carries organic ground turkey meat.  I hate having to make an extra stop just to pick up turkey meat. (Lazy)  But, if I’m being honest, it’s not just the inconvenience… I can never get out of ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/dinner/chicken-meatballs/feed/ 5
Whole Wheat Honey Waffles http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/breakfast/whole-wheat-honey-waffles/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/breakfast/whole-wheat-honey-waffles/#comments Tue, 29 Jan 2013 05:59:52 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12658 Honey_WholeWheat_Waffles_01
I recently went on a business trip to wine country in Santa Ynez.  I was gone for 3 days, and in typical working mom fashion, I felt the need to bring back a “guilt gift” for the kids.  Somehow wine didn’t feel appropriate so I got them a honey bear ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/breakfast/whole-wheat-honey-waffles/feed/ 2
Chocolate Chip Cookie Tart http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/chocolate-chip-cookie-tart/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/chocolate-chip-cookie-tart/#comments Wed, 08 Aug 2012 00:59:06 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12626 chocolate chip tart 3
Have you ever had the pleasure of eating a Pizookie?  It’s served at a restaurant chain called BJ’s.  It’s basically a freshly baked, hot out of the oven, rich and delicious cookie topped with two scoops of vanilla bean ice cream and served in its own deep dish.  It is ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/chocolate-chip-cookie-tart/feed/ 15
Grilled Peach & Brown Sugar Oatmeal http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/breakfast/grilled-peach-brown-sugar-oatmeal/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/breakfast/grilled-peach-brown-sugar-oatmeal/#comments Thu, 02 Aug 2012 04:52:29 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12620 grilled peach oatmeal 3
My dear friend Jackie who moved to Hotlanta a few years back, posted this on Facebook the other day:
I’m in a serious cooking funk these days. So hard to get up the energy when it’s 95+ degrees out! What are you all cooking these days? (I mean other than
 ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/breakfast/grilled-peach-brown-sugar-oatmeal/feed/ 6
Browned Butter Banana Bread http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/browned-butter-banana-bread/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/browned-butter-banana-bread/#comments Wed, 25 Jul 2012 01:02:53 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12608 brown butter 3
After a quick trip out of town, we returned home to 5 squishy bananas, two mealy peaches and nice little swarm of fruit flies having themselves a feast. Oooops! I suggested freezing the bananas and making a smoothie in the morning, but the kids had other plans.  While I was ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/browned-butter-banana-bread/feed/ 3
CWMK Named Top 100 Mom Food Blog 2012 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/press/cwmk-named-top-100-mom-food-blog-2012/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/press/cwmk-named-top-100-mom-food-blog-2012/#comments Fri, 20 Jul 2012 06:22:01 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12602 Screen shot 2012-07-20 at 12.24.56 AM
Babble picked CWMK as a Top 100 Mom Food Blog for 2012.  Check us out! ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/press/cwmk-named-top-100-mom-food-blog-2012/feed/ 1
Bon Appetit Features CWMK! http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/press/bon-appetit-features-cwmk/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/press/bon-appetit-features-cwmk/#comments Fri, 20 Jul 2012 06:15:24 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12597 Screen shot 2012-07-20 at 12.17.55 AM
One of our favorite summer time recipes for Chickpea Salad was just featured in one of our favorite magazines.  Check us out! ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/press/bon-appetit-features-cwmk/feed/ 0
Ninja Bread Men http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/ninja-bread-men/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/ninja-bread-men/#comments Thu, 19 Jul 2012 18:18:02 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12578 ninja bread men 2
A few months ago my kid started taking Tae Kwon Do lessons.  Shortly thereafter, the newly minted ninja suckered me into buying these ridiculously cute Fred & Friends Cookie Cutters.  How could I resist when the box says “They’re cut out for action!” My little potty trainer wanted in on ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/ninja-bread-men/feed/ 3
Berry Good Tart http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/berry-good-tart/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/berry-good-tart/#comments Wed, 18 Jul 2012 04:56:02 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12568 berry good tart 3
It’s been a great, long while since I last posted, but I have a good excuse. Really, I do.  I’ve spent the better part of a year working on a new food concept and I’m beyond thrilled to announce that I’ll be opening a restaurant by summer’s end.  It has ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/berry-good-tart/feed/ 5
Rainbow Fruit Pops http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/rainbow-fruit-pops/ http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/rainbow-fruit-pops/#comments Fri, 01 Jun 2012 16:26:14 +0000 http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/?p=12559 IMG_0263-1024x682
Summer is almost here, the weather is warm and we all need something to cool off from the afternoon heat. Bring on the popsicles! We like to make our own, not only does it give us something to do, but we get to choose what goes in them. No processed ...
]]>
http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/desserts/rainbow-fruit-pops/feed/ 1